My Desert Island Disc

Before getting started with this post, I just wanted to come clean with you all – I’m semi-failing at my New Year’s Resolutions.  (Remember when I said I was gonna write more?  Oops.)  But that being said, I’m already having one hell of an amazing 2014, so I guess I’m doing something right.

This week I had an assignment in my music class – compile a 5 song “Desert Island Disc,” or the 5 songs I would want with me should I ever find myself trapped on a desert island.  I enjoyed the assignment so much that I’ve decided to share my list with you all for my post this week.

“My Girl” – The Temptations

This is one of few songs that make me smile right away, every single time.  As soon as I hear the first few notes, I’m instantly in a better mood.  I think this would definitely come in handy should I ever find myself trapped on a desert island.  I’m a big fan of The Temptations and Motown music in general, but this song has always been a standout for me.  Growing up, my Nana worked as a babysitter for a few families and often took me along to hang out with the families she worked for.  I have the fondest memories of one family in particular.  When their dad was around, he’d sit at the piano and play “My Girl” for us, and his daughters and I would sing along.  It’s a simple memory, but one that has always stood out in my mind.  Since then, I’ve felt a special connection to this song and can always find comfort in it.  I also can’t help but sing along whenever it comes on, which is the mark of a truly great song as far as I’m concerned.

“Here Comes the Sun” – The Beatles

Again, this song has the power to instantly put me in a better mood.  I went through a Beatles obsession in high school and somehow decided that “Here Comes the Sun” is my absolute favorite Beatles song.  It’s almost impossible to pick just one, I know, but something about the soft, sweet sound of this song warms my heart and stands out among the rest of the vast Beatles catalogue.  “Here Comes the Sun” also goes along with my personal philosophy that everything will be alright.  Cheesy?  Yes.  True?  Also yes.  We all have to deal with shitty situations and sometimes it feels like they’re never going to end, but eventually they will and better days will come.  “Here Comes the Sun” serves as a reminder of that, beyond just being a really beautiful song.

“Here for You” – Neil Young

The last of the sentimental songs, I would choose Neil Young’s “Here for You” for my disc.  When I went away to college, my dad gave me a jump drive to look at when he left.  On the drive were some old pictures of the two of us, and this song.  My dad is a huge Neil Young fan so I was familiar with his music, but I had never heard this particular song before.  After he left me in my dorm room, I, embarrassingly enough, played the song over and over and cried my eyes out.  Over the past few years, I’ve developed a really great relationship with my dad.  He’s been my dad, support system, and rock for as long as I can remember, so as excited as I was to start college, I was definitely overcome with emotion about leaving home.  The song was written for Neil’s daughter and simply says that no matter where she goes or how old she gets, her dad is there for her always.  Being deserted on an island, I feel like this song would offer me some comfort and remind me of home.

“Ribs” – Lorde

Now for a song that I’ve recently fallen in love with, “Ribs” by Lorde.  Actually, I’ve had Lorde’s entire album on repeat for the past few months, but for the sake of the exercise I just picked one.  Lorde has a soft, cool voice that I have yet to grow tired of.  Being on a desert island with only 5 songs to listen to, I think it’s important that they’re songs I won’t grow tired of.  And if the past 4 months are any indication, I won’t be growing tired of this song/album any time soon.  I don’t necessarily have any connection to the song, but I did listen to the album for the first time upon my sister’s incessant encouragement, so I suppose it would remind me of her while I’m all alone on the island, so that’s pretty cool.

“I Want You Back” – *NSYNC

To round out the mix, I had to choose something that I could sing along and dance to, so what better choice is there than some classic 90s boy band action?  Anyone who knows me knows I’m obsessed with all things 90s, especially the music, so having a pop-y song from my favorite decade would be essential on a desert island.  Growing up I was definitely a Backstreet Boys kinda girl, but lately I’ve been developing a new love for Justin, JC, Lance, Chris, and Joey.  (I wrote about this rivalry and my love of boy bands in a previous post, you can check that out here.)  Nowadays I am an all-inclusive 90s music lover (for the most part), making it very hard to choose just one, but this jam by *NSYNC has been a go-to for a while now.  I can just picture myself making up dance moves and singing my heart out as I wait for salvation on my deserted island.  Plus, the song has one of my favorite music videos of all time.  Can I take that too?

What songs would be on your Desert Island Disc?  Let us know in the comments or tweet us at @born_raisedTX!

LauraS

Leave a Reply

