Let’s Be Real

Last year was a pretty stellar one (except for a few hiccups) and I can only hope for 2014 to be better, if not equal. I’ve always had high standards and I definitely have a type A personality so I hold myself to those same standards, but sometimes I need to learn to be more realistic.

For example, the goal I established at the end of last year and over Christmas break was to move to New York City in the summer, land a position in the publishing industry (whether it’s an internship or job) and get a job in the restaurant/service industry to make sure the money keeps coming in to sustain myself.

1969

Unfortunately it occurred to me that it’s really just not financially possible for my family and I (even if we sold my car). What a bubble buster, right? It also probably won’t be great for my relationship considering Troy still has two years of school left (at the most). As a result, I’ve come up with a more realistic goal for 2014.

My new plan is to stay in Dallas, find a job in the magazine industry here, and also get a job at a restaurant to gain experience in both. I will also most likely live at home to save more money in the long run. And finally, after Troy graduates and we’ve both saved up enough money, we hope that we can move to NYC together and afford a closet for us. Ha.

moon

Now you’re probably thinking: “Wow, is she really planning her life around her boyfriend?” No and yes, but I’m not ashamed. Two years of long distance will be hard and I’d rather avoid the strain. Also, it just isn’t really possible for my family and I to afford living in the city so staying at home will give me more experience and money to make it in NYC. Not to mention, it won’t be so lonely if I have someone with me.

subway

Think what you want, but I’m proud of my decision even if I means living at home as a college graduate. It may not live up to the standards I usually keep for myself, but if I follow this plan I know that I will be able to fulfill my ultimate goal of living and working in the concrete jungle.

mar

Leave a Reply

