Keep Going, Keep Going, Keep Going

I’ve never really been one to set New Year’s Resolutions, or any hard and fast goals for that matter.  I’m not sure why, but I’m kind of turned off by the idea of potentially limiting myself by setting goals or cutting things out of my life.  This goes for other things too, like the beginning of a school year or Lenten promises.  Does that make sense?  Not really.  I don’t know how to explain it exactly, but I think it has something to do with a fear of failure.  If you don’t set specific goals for yourself, you can’t fail at them.

But in a quest to try and live a life devoid of fear, I’ve decided to come up with some resolutions for 2014.  This year will be one of monumental changes for me – I just moved to LA for my final semester of college, I’m graduating in a few months, and will soon be venturing out into the so-called real world.  That being said, I’m setting some resolutions that will (hopefully) help me stay grounded and make this my personal best year yet.

Read at least one book a month

This one is simple in theory but maybe not so much so in execution.  I really enjoy reading, but for a while now I’ve struggled to find time to read for fun and get lost in a good story.  This year I hope to change this by challenging myself to reading – and finishing – at least one book a month.

Write more

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been slacking a bit on my weekly posts on this here site.  To be fair, we’ve all been really busy for the past month.  But, much like creating time to read, I need to create time to write as well, both for Born & Raised and for myself.  I want to write more not only to express myself creatively, but also so that in a year from now I can look back and see where I was.  I have a horrible, horrible memory, so by writing more I can remedy that, even if just a little.

Stay in touch with people

1475880_2101159098184_1653838451_n

Including, but not limited to, these fools

Like I said, I am spending my final semester in Los Angeles, AKA very far away from most of my friends and family.  Additionally, I hope to move here permanently after graduation in May, so it’s incredibly important for me to maintain the friendships I’ve made over the past 2, 4, or 18 years of my life.  Of course communication is a two-way street, but I’m placing the responsibility on myself to make sure I keep in touch with those people who helped me get to where I am today.

Get a job

If I want to make this LA dream of mine a reality, I have to get a job.  So I’m gonna do that.

Push my limits, get out of my comfort zone

a la Girls

a la Girls

I’ve been working on this one for a while now.  Sometime last year, I challenged myself to say “yes” more, and to not let fear or tiredness or laziness get in the way of me living my life to the fullest.  I think it was fairly successful, but I want to push myself farther.  That doesn’t mean saying “yes” when everyone says “jump off a cliff,” but when opportunities arise to do something new or challenging or different, I’m going to try my hardest to just go for it.  Sitting on the sidelines won’t get anyone anywhere, so I need to push myself to jump in.

Keep going

The title of this post, “Keep Going, Keep Going, Keep Going,” has become a sort of mantra of mine since hearing it in this Kid President video (shout-out SoulPancake).  It’s nice to have a dreamy, perfect vision of the year ahead, about how you will improve yourself and your world, but in reality we’ll all face hardships in the year ahead.  There will be bumps in the road, sometimes even mountains blocking your path, and that’s just the way life goes.  But instead of getting discouraged or even giving up, I’ll tell myself to keep going – and you should to.

So people of the world – do you have any New Year’s Resolutions?  If so, what are they?

Oh, and if you’re not already following our Twitter (@born_raisedTX), that should be one of your resolutions.  You can mark that one off your list in no time!

Until next time,

LauraS

One comment

  1. It’s great that you’ve been getting out of your comfort zone last year and it’s good that you want to go further. I believe our journey out of our comfort zone is never finished and it’s an ongoing process. Getting out of my comfort zone is something that I am just starting this year and I know it is important to push myself and I know that it’s not necessarily going to be easy. At the moment I am working on being uncomfortable because doing stuff outside the comfort zone will mean doing stuff that feels uncomfortable which is why I have devised a challenge. I know this might sound crazy but I am going to be keeping my underwear in a wedgie for a day and not allowing myself to adjust. I have written more about the challenge on my blog so feel free to check it out.

    Katie x
    http://katieloveslife94.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

