“What’s Your Snapchat?”

A question I hear and find myself asking quite often. It’s something I have mixed feelings about. Sometimes, it gives me the feeling of thrill. Other times, it’s terribly annoying. Hence the love/hate relationship I have with Snapchat. I don’t know why this topic hasn’t occurred to me sooner, but I’m ready to share my feelings toward this sneaky app in a pro/con kind of way.

snap

This guy

I’ve had Snapchat for what seems like quite a while – I think since before my boyfriend and I started dating (over a year ago), but it could be longer. Anyways, snapchatting with Troy while we were doing long(er) distance (he was at UNC at the time) accounts for some of my first memories of using the app. Don’t get the wrong idea, we didn’t use the app for the naughty things you’re probably thinking. I’m sure those of you who don’t have Snapchat assume that’s what everyone uses it for. It’s not the case – at least not for me, but I guess I can’t speak for everyone. [Pro: Good for long distance relationships.]

Consequently, I enjoyed the app because I only had a few Snapchat friends at the time and it was easy to keep up with those. I’m pretty sure I was the one who convinced Troy to get a Snapchat in the first place so I obviously I liked it. It was new and fun. However, over time, my feelings have changed. At one point, I considered boycotting it because I was so annoyed by it. [Con: It can get annoying.]

So, what is it that’s so great about Snapchat? You can’t anonymously screenshot your friends’ pictures anymore or view their stories without their knowledge (just recently discovered that one). BUT, you can see who your friends are snapchatting the most by viewing their best friends. I feel so sneaky whenever I do this. It’s like I’m invading some hidden part of their social life even though I’m really not because everyone can see their best friends. [Con: No more anonymity.]

https://i0.wp.com/makeameme.org/media/created/First-rule-of-qu6n8n.jpg

Snap Club

Speaking of, be careful who you snapchat on a regular basis. Wouldn’t want to get caught snapchatting your best friend’s ex or your boyfriend’s roommate on a regular basis. Or even worse, get caught in a lie about who you do or don’t talk to every day. Before you assume, I’m innocent. My best friends on Snapchat are my two best friends from high school (Amy and Daniela) and Troy (obvi). It can get you in trouble so that’s one thing to be aware of when using the app. [Con/Pro?: Can reveal some hidden truths.]

The story concept of Snapchat has grown on me. Considering I only get to my best friends, sometimes those under the recent list, and Abbey and Alayna because they’re names start with A (sorry Laura), I don’t make it very far down my list of friends unless I don’t feel entirely lazy. It’s much more convenient to send whatever I feel like to “My Story” for those who want to view it. Plus, I get to see who’s checking out mine on a regular basis. [Pro: Easy to mass share.]

Another reason I like Snapchat is because it helps me keep in touch with people I don’t talk to on a regular basis. It’s fun to see what they’re up to or to get just a little glimpse into their day. And vice versa, it’s easy to share a selfie or funny pic with friends from high school or even older friends like my first best friend, Carley. [Pro: Good for staying in touch.]

Sometimes I get overwhelmed when I have too many unopened snapchats. It gets annoying and since I’m an anal retentive human being, I feel to need to respond to all of them. It’s stressful, y’all. And if I don’t get the chance to respond, I feel bad, especially if it’s someone who’s always on their snapchat flow or if they’re sent specifically for me to respond or acknowledge. [Con: Results in conflicted feelings.]

Lastly and most importantly, Snapchat saves you from having countless selfies or random pics taking over your photo album. It’s much more convenient than trying to quickly get a picture and sending it to the friend(s) you want. Also, you wouldn’t want someone going through your photo album and seeing all those heinous facial expressions you make in your selfies. That’s what Snapchat is for. Add me (marrleey), I make some good faces. [Pro: Saves space in your phone.]

https://i0.wp.com/www.amzer.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/Snapcat.png

Wait. Is this real?

Now that I’ve shared my feelings about Snapchat, I’d love to know yours! Please comment below and tell me what you think about this app that’s both good and evil (in my opinion).

mar

Leave a Reply

