Ten Things I Know To Be True

Lately we’ve been talking a lot about senior year, graduation, jobs, school, and freaking out about our futures here on Born & Raised, especially as we get closer to the end of the semester.  Right now we, along with our friends and peers, are preparing for huge changes in our lives.

I think I speak for all of us when I say that we’re scared and incredibly uncertain about what’s to come.  But instead of dwelling on this fear and uncertainty, I’ve decided to take some time to reflect on things that I’ve learned in my 21 (almost 22!) years that I am certain about.  Inspired by this TED Talk I saw recently by the ridiculously talented spoken word poet Sarah Kay, here is my list of Ten Things I Know To Be True.

I know that being afraid of the future is futile and a waste of time.  I have some news – the future is inevitable.  In 10 years, 5 years, 5 minutes, you will be in the future and there’s a good chance you’ll be in a different place than you are right now.  Is that scary?  Hell yeah, it is.  But don’t let the fear of the unknown become bigger than the excitement of what’s in store for you.

I know that realizing your flaws and loving yourself despite them is one of the hardest but most valuable decisions you can make.  It’s a decision that, once made, will change your life for the better.

I know that if you can talk to someone about butts and farts and other weird things and not make it awkward, you’ve found a true friend.

I know that stepping on a crack will not break your mother’s back, but tripping on a crack because you’re oblivious to your surroundings will make you look like an idiot.  Be present always and know what the hell is going on around you, both literally and figuratively.

I know that I’m the only me that will ever walk this planet.  That’s pretty cool.

I know that I will fail hundreds of times, but I will never be a failure.  To fail means to try at something and, upon finding that it doesn’t work or go according to plan, moving on.  To be a failure means to try, fail miserably, and let that keep you from trying again.

I know that people aren’t mind readers.  If you want something, you have to say, “Hey, I want (blank).”  Being up front and honest about what you’re after isn’t always easy, but it’s the only way to get what you want, whether it be a relationship, a job, or anything really.  It also saves a lot of time wondering what the other party is thinking.

I know that hangovers suck, big time.

I know that saying no to something you simply don’t want to do is ok.  I also know that saying no to something you’re afraid to do is not ok.

I know that rules are made to be broken.  Cliché?  Yes.  Applicable to every situation?  No.  The rule to not murder people is pretty solid and shouldn’t be experimented with.  But when it comes to relationships or making life decisions or anything really, make your own damn rules.  Following prescribed guidelines about when to text someone or how to spend your Friday night or what to study in school will get you nowhere, so make your own decisions (even if you’re like me and have a really hard time doing so).

Realizing those things that you know for sure make dealing with the unknown just a little easier.  What are some things that you know to be true?  Let us know in the comments!

I know you’re all wonderful,

LauraS

2 comments

  1. Bill Carlson · · Reply

    Well, I know I raised a pretty damn cool daughter. love ya, kiddo.

  2. I know that you are my butts and farts friend. ❤ love you Lars

Leave a Reply

