Halloween Movies For Scaredy Cats

I love Halloween – the pumpkin, the colors, the introduction to fall, the dressing up, the spooky atmosphere, and did I mention the pumpkin?  Unfortunately, one thing I definitely don’t love is scary movies.  I’ve tried and tried to enjoy scary movies, but time and time again I find myself covering my eyes through the entire thing and unable to sleep for at least a week.

I like creepy, I like weird, but horror and things popping out of places really don’t do it for me.  If you’re in the same Halloween-loving but scary-hating boat, here are some classic choices to get you in the Halloween spirit, without the risk of peeing your pants (well, maybe from laughter).

7. The Addams Family (1991)

A hilarious look at the twisted family everyone knows and loves, The Addams Family is a Halloween classic.  The plot is absolutely ridiculous – a man is convinced by his vindictive mother to trick the family into thinking he is their missing Uncle Fester, and chaos ensues.  This is also our introduction to the iconic Christina Ricci Wednesday Addams, one of my favorite characters of all time.

6. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

Although I do think it’s a little unfair that this movie doubles as a Halloween AND Christmas movie (and it probably the only film ever to do so), you can’t deny how great it is – in both seasons.  It would probably be higher on the list if it didn’t also belong on a Christmas list.

5. Beetlejuice (1988)

While not technically a Halloween movie per say, Beetlejuice has ghosts, scary creatures, and a haunted house, which I think makes it count.  It also has a possessed family singing and dancing to “Day-O” by Harry Belafonte.

4. Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)

Again, not necessarily a Halloween movie, but Halloween is definitely the best time to watch it, if for no other reason than to be inspired by really great costumes.  The music is addicting and the story is so wrong it’s right.  Do yourself a favor and go to a live Rocky Horror Picture Show – always a good time.

3. Addams Family Values (1993)

As much as I love The Addams Family, Addams Family Values trumps it for sure.  As previously stated, Wednesday Addams a favorite character of mine, and she is at her prime in this film.  With the birth of a baby Addams, Wednesday and Pugsley are sent to summer camp and try to fit in with the “normal” kids (and fail, of course).  Some other stuff happens, but Wednesday really owns this movie.

2. Halloweentown (1998)

The cream of the crop when it comes to Disney Channel original movies, Halloweentown is the ultimate feel-good Halloween movie.  I’ll throw Halloweentown 2 in on this one too (but after that one, not so much).  Who didn’t want to go to Halloweentown, and who didn’t want to be Marnie Piper?  Note: I still do.  I also had (read: still have) a huge crush on Luke.  Marnie says it best – “Halloween is cool.”

1. Hocus Pocus (1993)

I don’t think anyone disagrees with the fact that Hocus Pocus is definitively the greatest non-scary Halloween movie of all time.  The Sanderson sisters are comically creepy, while “cool-guy” Max and adorable little sister Dani, with the help of Binx and Allison of course, make a great witch-fighting team.  If you haven’t seen this movie OR don’t agree that it’s the best Halloween movie ever, I might have to summon the burning rain of death on you.  I’m Sanderson sister serious.

Happy Halloween, everybody!  And don’t light any black flame candles, please,

LauraS

Leave a Reply

