Friday Top Five – Albums You Should Be Listening To Right Now

Hey everyone, Laura here.  Sorry I’ve been MIA the past couple weeks and being a failure at posting (Mondays are hard, y’all).  So since I haven’t posted in two weeks, I wanted to put together a little Friday Top Five and talk about some albums that I am obsessed with at the moment.

While I certainly do not consider myself someone who is skilled at finding new music, a combination of Austin City Limits weekend, my sister’s musical guidance, and an unexplainable love of the artist formerly known as Hannah Montana have led me to some really great, semi-recently released music that I want to share with you guys.

I’m sure some will be familiar to you, but if you haven’t listened to any of these, I highly recommend you do.  I’d also like to note that they are all albums by really awesome lady singers, which is kind of exciting.  Girl power and all that.  I’ll include my favorite track from each if you just want a little taste, but I recommend listening to the album as a whole.

1.  Lorde – Pure Heroine

I am not exaggerating when I say I’ve been listening to this album non-stop.  Of course everyone knows and loves her summer hit “Royals,” but the album as a whole is a million times better.  It’s a super easy album to listen to – nothing too loud or in your face, just simple, beautiful music.  Also, can we talk about the fact that this girl is 17 years old (16 when she made the album)?!  I wish I was this cool when I was 17.

2.  Haim – Days Are Gone

Three badass, super talented sisters from Valley Village, CA (where I lived this summer, nbd) – seriously what could be better?  I had the pleasure of seeing them perform at the mtvU Woodie Awards at SXSW this year and have been anxiously awaiting the release of their debut studio album, Days Are Gone.  The fact that it was released the week before I saw them at ACL made it that much better.  If you have the chance to see them live, do it.  But until then, listen to the album and have your life changed.

3.  CHVRCHES – The Bones of What You Believe

Another debut studio album, The Bones of What You Believe by Scottish electro-pop band CHVRCHES (pronounced churches) will get you grooving.  Their first single, “The Mother We Share,” was released about a year ago, but the album has only been out for a few weeks.  It’s pop-y and upbeat, but lead singer Lauren has a sweetly haunting voice that makes it different from your usual electronic music.  I say that like I listen to a lot of electro-pop, which I don’t…but I definitely listen to these guys and they’re incredible.  They’re also from my homeland, which is automatic points in my book.

4.  Best Coast – Fade Away

This one hasn’t been released yet, and is technically an EP/”mini-album”, but I’ve been a big fan of Best Coast for a while now and couldn’t not include them.  It will be released on lead singer Bethany’s new label Jewel City on October 22, but you can listen to it here.  I admittedly haven’t listened to this one as much yet and haven’t found a favorite, so here’s the first song on the album as a sample.  I also recommend following Bethany on Twitter (@best_coast) because she is absolutely hilarious and ridiculous.

5.  Miley Cyrus – Bangerz

Ok, I know this one is a little controversial, but hear me out.  VMAs, foam fingers, and twerking aside, Miley can sing and I don’t think anyone can argue with that.  I’ve listened to Bangerz quite a bit now, and while I’m not super crazy about every song, there are some definite stand-outs that I think you should give a chance.  Some are weird (“4×4” featuring Nelly still confuses me but I love it), some are over the top, but who doesn’t belt “Wrecking Ball” or jam to “We Can’t Stop” every time they come on the radio?  Don’t lie.  If you don’t want to listen to the whole thing, at least give “FU” and “#GETITRIGHT” a chance (for me?) – obnoxious titles, I know, but they’re really good, I promise.

Hope you find something you like!  Do you have any album suggestions that we should be listening to?  Let us know in the comments!

LauraS

Leave a Reply

