Online Workout Videos – Are They Worth It?

To start, I want to point out that this is Born & Raised’s 50th blog post. Woo! So congrats to the girls that started this blog. I’m so thankful I was asked to join and honored to write the 50th post!

Some of you may be thinking, who is this girl and why does she get to write for the blog all the sudden? Well I don’t want to bore you with an elaborate story about myself so you’ll just get to know me a little bit better through my posts every Tuesday. And if you want to find out why I’m writing, check out Laura’s most recent post.

First insight about me: I like to workout/run/do yoga/etc. I used to be a workout freak, but I’ve settled down to a college student’s workout routine. I’ve run a couple of half marathons and won awards for winning and placing in 5Ks. If you can’t tell I prefer running, but my most recent workout obsession has been online workout videos via YouTube.

I’ve tried Insanity, some others of Shaun T’s and Jillian Michaels’ videos, but it’s so much simpler (for me) to go to YouTube and search. Plus, it saves you some money. As a result, I’ve found some great workouts that are easy to follow and leave me feeling good after and sore the next day.

Image

It’s as easy as going to YouTube and searching for the type of workout you’re looking to do. For example, I’ll search yoga for back pain or morning yoga routines and the search results give me plenty of choices. Also, if I don’t feel like going for a run, I’ll search cardio workouts, cardio and abs, or bodyweight cardio workouts.

Some of my favorite yoga instructors on YouTube are Sadie Nardini and Adriene (Yoga with Adriene). They are easy to follow and I’d never really sweat while doing yoga until I tried those. If you don’t find what you’re looking for there, just type yoga in the search and pick one of the many suggestions that pop up below.

My go-to channel as of late has been Fitness Blender. It’s taught by a cute and fit couple and the videos are SUPER easy to follow and understand. They have specific workout playlists for abs, cardio, stretching, warm ups, and more. They even have a categories for workouts that are 10 minutes or less and one to answer all your fitness questions. And this.

hero

In my opinion they’re worth a try.  You don’t have to follow my search recommendations, but I would at least try something out on YouTube. There are countless fitness channels and videos – you just have to find what suits you.

If you have any questions or suggestions for other channels and fitness options on YouTube, feel free to share in the comments.

Leave a Reply

