How Being A Temporary Vegan Is Changing My Life

For some reason that even I don’t completely understand, I decided to challenge myself to go vegan for the month of September.  It’s been just about a week since starting this challenge, and it has certainly been, well, challenging.  More so than I thought.  Being in a place like Austin where there are vegan options definitely helps,  but being in Texas where barbecue and Mexican food are religion make things a little more complicated.  I underestimated just how big of a role meat played in my diet, and that’s just the easy part.  Vegans don’t eat anything with any ingredients that come from animals, so besides meat I can’t have anything with eggs, milk, butter, cheese, cream, etc.  While I’ve been able to find some delicious alternatives to some things, I’m finding myself wanting a big fat cheeseburger, and unfortunately there’s really no replacement for that.

bb come back to me

So why would I subject myself to this kind of torture?  Good question.  I wish I had an answer.  I’ll try to come up with something.  Let’s see…

Is it because of my love for animals?  While I do love and respect our furry and feathered friends (2 points for alliteration), no, that’s not it.  There are certainly issues with the way animal products are harvested and sold to the public, but I personally do not have any ethical or moral issues with eating meat or utilizing animals as a food source.

Is it because I want to lose weight?  Not really.  I mean everyone wants that, right?  But I did not set out on this challenge with the goal of losing any weight, though it has forced me to eat healthier and think more about the foods I’m eating.  It’s been incredibly eye-opening searching ingredient labels and seeing that there is egg in soy “chicken” nuggets or milk in my Raisin Bran cereal, or that Oreos have no dairy whatsoever (crazy, I know).

I think it comes down to the fact that I simply wanted to challenge myself.  I admittedly have a really big problem with self-control and self-discipline, and I’ve found that challenging myself in a concrete way has helped me tremendously.  About a month ago, I did a 30-day no soda challenge and have successfully gone from an at-least-one-soda-a-day drinker to having one maybe once a week.  And although this challenge is a little different and completely temporary, it is helping me become someone who can tell herself no, even when the alternative is much more appealing.

Now it’s time to get #deep.  Recently, I reached a point where I realized that I really wanted to better myself in all areas of my life, from taking better care of my teeth do being a better friend to the people I care about.  This challenge is just one of many steps I’m taking on this journey.  It also involves taking risks, saying yes to things I would’ve said no to (and saying no to things that just aren’t in my best interest), thinking about my health…the list goes on and on.  While they seem like small changes, I can feel things adding up and starting to fall into place, into the life that I want to lead.

I truly believe that how you treat yourself, both physically and mentally, has a huge impact on not only your life, but also the lives that you touch.  As the great Ru Paul says,

So, I’d love to know – how do you want to better yourself?  Is there something you’re struggling with?  A change you really want to make?  Let me know in the comments or tweet it @born_raisedTX!

Until next time,

LauraS

8 comments

  1. teqbandit · · Reply

    sweet post l-dawg. i think should have started with vegetarian first but MORE POWER TO YOU! i juiced for a week straight and it was the best week of my life. trying to start up again in Madrid, but damn do they love ham here.

  2. Gahhh those BURGERS! Is it weird that I would totally be fine with having that picture framed and hung up as wall art in my kitchen? It’s probably a sign that I need help…
    Haha but seriously, that’s really neat that you are challenging yourself like this! I watched Food, Inc on Netflix this summer and it kind of had me wanted to try veganism but my love of burgers, chocolate milk, and all things cheese overpowered that dream REAL quick. I hope you have better luck, chickadee! I’m sure it will feel amazing when you finish! 🙂

    xx,
    j. parker

  3. LOVE THIS. Eddie can vouch for my year of being a vegan, haha. The first month was the hardest, but everything gets easier once your eating becomes a habit. Let me know how things are at the end of this month!

  4. Hi.

    A question if I may – or “challenge” if that’s what you like.

    You say: “While I do love and respect our furry and feathered friends” and “I personally do not have any ethical or moral issues with eating meat or utilizing animals” in the same paragraph.

    Isn’t that a most (impossibly?) challenging balancing act in itself?

    Cheers from Down Under.

    1. I definitely see how that can be a bit unclear. My point was simply that my reason for being (temporarily) vegan is not because of an issue with eating meat (or other animal products). I don’t think liking animals and not being vegan have to be mutually exclusive. I certainly don’t think any animal should be mindlessly slaughtered and that we could definitely do a better job producing and distributing animal products, but again I don’t see a problem with using meat as a source of nutrition.

      Thanks for commenting!

  5. TBH it’s still unclear to me how anyone can kill those they like. (And even those they don’t like!)

    I’d love to ask you more about it but don’t wanna hijack the post. Drop around if you’re interested.

    Bye all.

    1. I see what you’re saying, and for me personally it is a complicated issue that I honestly just don’t have enough information to have much discourse about.

      I’ll definitely check out your page, I’m interested to see what all you have to say as I admittedly didn’t do much research before getting started.

      Again, I appreciate the input!

      – Laura

  6. What a great way to challenge yourself! It’s always great to try new things and push yourself to new limits. I’m definitely going to try to better myself by stressing less. With graduation on the horizon and my last semester picking up I’m always stressed so I am going to do what I can to limit the stress in my life!

Leave a Reply

