’90s Music Monday – That’s a Wrap

Just over two months ago I wrote a ‘90s Music Monday post about “One Week” by Barenaked Ladies where I talked about how I was leaving for California in one week. I know it’s cliché and annoying that I’m saying this, but it really feels like that was just yesterday, and I can’t believe my summer in LA has come to an end. For the sake of not making you read about how fabulous my summer was and how much I’m going to miss it (and for the sake of me not sitting here bawling my eyes out as I type), I’m going to try to make this as quick and painless as possible.

If I had to sum up my summer in one word, it would be “adventure.” As scary as it was leaving (most of) my family and friends, spending my summer working in California was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made and probably the biggest adventure of my life thus far. I still don’t completely understand LA, but we had quite the summer fling and I can’t wait to be reunited.

581721_10200540940835616_1926454243_n

I had so many incredible experiences here, but I’ll try to sum it up. I had the best internship I could have asked for at Aspect Ratio and got the worst sunburn of my life at Hermosa Beach. I ate surprisingly delicious Mexican food and got trapped in unsurprisingly bad traffic, on more than one occasion. I went on roller coasters, both literally and metaphorically. I looked to my right and saw the Hollywood sign at the Griffith Observatory, and also got to see it every day on my drive home from work. I spent time with old friends, made new friends, and reunited with family that I hadn’t seen in over a decade. I fell in love with skater boys in Venice and saw the Backstreet Boys live in concert. I became more adventurous in my ordering of sushi. Ok that one’s a lie…I still just eat California rolls, so sue me! I worked, I played, I explored, I ate, I drank, and I adventured in this city that will soon be my home.

970653_10200540946075747_795933666_n

So I should probably get to the ‘90s Music part of this Monday. I’ve been thinking a lot about the fact that my time here is done and how hard it is saying goodbye and moving on. Good thing the quintessential “goodbye and move on” song was released in 1997 – Green Day’s “Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)”. I’m pretty sure the main function of this song is to make people sad and nostalgic about literally any situation, so it totally works here.

The last time this song was the soundtrack for nostalgia was our 8th grade graduation. While we’re on the subject, why were we so emotional about that? 75% of us went to the same high school and the rest were still easily within (parental) driving distance. We were so #dramatic.

Anyways, this song perfectly commemorates not only the end of my adventure, but also the end of all of our summers (buzzkill, I know).

I hope you had the time of your life (you knew that was coming),

LauraS

Leave a Reply

