5 Quotes to get you Through a Rough Day

We all have bad days. Some bad days feel like you’re at the end of your rope and you don’t know what to do about it. Whenever I’m having a bad day I turn to Pinterest, which yes, sounds ridiculous. But weaving through other people’s quote boards I almost always find the inspiration to turn the day around. Here are some of the quotes that help me do that:

For days when you feel like there’s rock bottom, 50 feet of crap, and then you:

Rock bottom sucks. We’ve all been there once or twice. But when you’ve hit rock bottom, you’ve got nowhere to go but up. Who knows, maybe you’ll find the inspiration for a few best selling novels down there.

For days when the past is weighing you down:

One of my greatest flaws is that I dwell on the past far too long; like if I think about a certain event long enough I can change it. This quote by C.S. Lewis helps me remember to look forward, and reminds me that who I was is not who I am. There are certain people from your past that are made to stay in your past and that any mistakes are merely lessons learned.

For days when everyone is an ass hole:

Robert Downey Jr. 's a hero

Sometimes it’s better just to nod and smile, and then go about your day rather than to fight with someone who isn’t really listening to you anyway. Everybody’s got an opinion, and if there is something that you feel you need to be doing, then do it–and then pray to God that the odds are in your favor.

For days when reality is crushing you:

You need to do whatever you can to take yourself out of the real world. I enjoy writing so much because it allows me to step out of myself and think and write about whatever the hell I want. Before I fall asleep at night I always imagine what my life will be like in five or ten years, and each night it is always different. Whenever I go running I make up stories in my head (because running is boring and I hate it). The point is, imagination is a terrible thing to waste; it’s what keeps us sane.

For days when being single sucks:

I’ve never had a boyfriend in the traditional sense, and some days that really gets me down. I start planning all the activities I will take up when I become a spinster (raising birds, playing bridge, making handmade soaps…in case you were wondering). But then I remember that there is someone out there that is just for me; that we all have this void that someone someday will fill. Someone who wants to know you and understand you on every level. And sometimes I think maybe my first boyfriend will be my last. That would be quite a story.

It is up to you to find beauty in the ugliest days. HAPPY THURSDAY EVERYONE!

AbbeyS

Leave a Reply

