Book Review: Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close

Girls in White Dresses (according to the description on the back of the book) is about three friends who feel like everyone they know is getting married, and how they are constantly attending bridal showers, engagement parties, and weddings. They are faced with their own life dilemmas, like being single in their mid-twenties, having jobs with impossible bosses, and their train-wreck of a love life.

Sounds fun right? I love a good story about real women who aren’t perfect and have ups and downs in work and their social life, which is what I thought I was going to read about; something relatable. Turns out, this book was an extreme waste of my time. It doesn’t follow just three women, there are tons of names and stories mentioned, which was too many to follow. You are constantly trying to remember who dated who, and who is working where. That was frustrating enough, but on top of that, there wasn’t even a plot line. It is just a bunch of random stories of needy, bitchy girls strung together. I hated the fact that each time there was a wedding event, the girls would complain about being there, wishing bad things on the bride, and were incredibly sour about the couple’s happiness.

It seemed like it was a book that would appeal to bitter, single women in their thirties. I am NOT a feminist by any stretch of the imagination, but I was very agitated at the way women were portrayed in this book (written by a woman I might add!). Each of these girls would cry if their boyfriend left them alone, hated doing anything with his friends, complained about the men’s families, and were just downright needy and selfish, which I think is exactly how a lot of men perceive women today. Close writes well, in great detail, and at parts has a great sense of humor, but this book lacked depth, and an overall point. At the end of the book I was like, “That’s it? That’s all there is? What was I even reading about?” which is a terrible feeling. I suppose if you’re just in between books, looking for a quick read that doesn’t require any thinking, then this would be just the book, however I still wouldn’t recommend it to anyone, but of course, this is just my opinion.

Did you read Girls in White Dresses? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
At the end of the summer I will compile a list of my top 5 book recommendations, so be sure to check back!

Peace and blessings y’all,

AbbeyS

One comment

  1. Ok, I have read the book and must say that I agree completely with your analysis! What even was the point?! At the end of the book I, too, felt that it was a waste of time and had no idea what it was even about. It did lack depth and there were WAY too many characters to follow. Well said Abbey!

Leave a Reply

