’90s Music Monday – Country Edition

Happy Monday, y’all!  It’s the first day of July, which means I’ve officially been a Californian for a whole month.  And while I absolutely love it here, there are definitely some things I miss about my Lone Star State.  These things include, but are not limited to, good barbecue and Tex Mex, Shiner Ruby Redbird, Mexi-Marts at Trudy’s, my neighbor’s pool, and Whataburger.  But more than all that, I really miss my friends and driving around singing along to quality country music on the radio.

To be fair to the California country radio station, I was surprised they even had one.  Unfortunately, the music selection on that station is average at best.  One thing I’ve noticed about radio stations here is that they are irritatingly repetitive, and Go Country 105.1 is no exception.  I swear to you I am not exaggerating when I say that 99% of the times I put it on, they are playing either Hunter Hayes or that Zac Brown Band song “Jump Right In“.  EVERY.  TIME.  Sure, those songs are fine.  But I just really miss the variety of Texas-style country radio.

Now you might be thinking to yourself, “Laura, what does your complaining about country music have to do with ’90s Music Monday?”  And to that, my friends, I have a simple answer – the ’90s were the home of some of the greatest country songs of all time.  From Reba’s cover of “The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia” in 1992 to the arrival of the Dixie Chicks (from Texas, by the way) to the country scene in 1998 with their major label debut Wide Open Spaces.  And so many country legends truly found their stride in the 1990’s.

Side note: Y’all remember when Reba was in The Little Rascals? SO ’90s!

But, as mentioned above, I also miss my friends a lot, and nothing, I mean nothing, reminds me of my fellow B&R girls more than Garth Brooks’s “Friends in Low Places”.  Released back in August 1990, this song epitomizes great country music – a good story, a catchy chorus, and the perfectly twanged voice of Garth.  (And even though he’s from Oklahoma, I can’t help but love him.)  I can’t remember a time that I’ve gone to my favorite neighborhood bar in Austin and not heard this song.  And every single time I 1. text my friends the lyrics in all caps and 2. sing along as loudly as possible.

Of course, the “friends in low places” translates quite literally when I say the song reminds me of my friends, as I consider A&M and Texas Tech very low places, indeed.

Oh, and if you ever come to California, say y’all as much as humanly possible.  They love it.

Y’all come back now,

LauraS

One comment

  1. […] ’90s Music Monday – Country Edition (bornraised.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

