On Equality (And Why Gay Rights Are Stupid)

By the time this post is uploaded and you read these words, the Supreme Court of the United States will have made two landmark decisions regarding marriage equality.  However, as I sit and write this post, I have no idea what those outcomes will be.  And while I am fearful, I am equally hopeful that people are fired up more than ever and that the times, they are a-changin’.

Listen to Bob Dylan’s Civil Rights Movement anthem while you read to feel extra inspired

If you’re interested in the cases at hand, the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) and California’s Proposition 8 (Prop 8), I recommend a Google search and a perusing of their Wikipedia pages (because I get all my information from Wikipedia).  And while the decisions on these cases are historic, they do not mark the end of the fight for equality, whatever the outcomes are.  So in lieu of discussing the ins and outs of DOMA and Prop 8, I’m going to talk about why “gay rights” are stupid and why I care.

Issues of LGBTQ rights (and all human rights for that matter) are stupid because of the very definition of human rights.  According to my pal Wiki, human rights are defined as “inalienable fundamental rights to which a person is inherently entitled simply because she or he is a human being. Human rights are thus conceived as universal (applicable everywhere) and egalitarian (the same for everyone).”

This means that rights, in any situation, cannot be “believed” or “decided” or “granted”.  They are INHERENT, INALIENABLE, and UNIVERSAL, whether your morals or religion or what-have-you agree or not.  Last time I checked, LGBTQ people are, in fact, humans, and as such are to be granted the same fundamental human rights as anyone else.  So the fact that some people think they have the right to dictate which humans are entitled to certain human rights is, you guessed it, stupid.

So, why do I care?  As a straight female, this LGBTQ fight for equality mumbo jumbo shouldn’t matter to me, right?  Wrong.

I care because as a woman, my rights are being questioned and compromised by old, rich, white guys, much like those of the LGBTQ community and other minority groups.  Yes, I understand that is a generalization, but what I’m trying to get across is that the wrong people are trying to tell me, my friends, and my fellow Americans what my human rights are.

I care because as a friend, I have found some of the greatest hearts and minds in incredible people, people who I have formed life-long relationships with, but because of who they love, they are viewed as second-class citizens.

I care because as a niece, I have seen my uncles share a relationship that never seemed strange, never seemed wrong, never seemed anything less than what a loving relationship should be.  I never wondered why I had two uncles; I wasn’t scarred or confused when I eventually learned that they were gay.  I care because two men who have been together for as many years as I have been alive, together through losses in the family, losses of jobs, losses of hair (sorry Uncle David), have not lost their love for each other, yet cannot legally be married in their home state, my home state, the state I will soon call my home, or 35 other states in this perfect union.  And that’s not right.

I care because as a human, I am not free while others are oppressed (thanks, Author Unknown).

Finally, I care because it matters, and as the late, great Martin Luther King, Jr. said:

And with that, it’s time for me to step off my soapbox.

Until next time,

LauraS

 

 

 

 

Oh, and in case you missed it, this morning the Supreme Court ruled both DOMA and Prop 8 unconstitutional.

Note: While I consider myself a straight ally, my views and the views expressed in this post in no way represent the views of the LGBTQ community.

Leave a Reply

