Why Dads are the Greatest

So obvs, today is Father’s Day—I know some of you are having that “Oh shit” moment because you have completely forgotten, well YOU ARE WELCOME for the reminder, and you are excused from reading this blog post so you can run and pick up some steaks or whatever. But really, let’s think about how friggin awesome dads are.

They are full of stellar advice.

Most of the time they give pretty sound advice. Except for when they are discussing boys with their daughters saying things like, “no I don’t think you should date him,” or “wouldn’t you rather have a goldfish?” Whether it actually pans out or not is irrelevant; at least their heart is in the right place. My dad’s favorite piece of advice is “you can’t beat the train,” the train being a metaphor for whatever point he is trying to make for that specific lecture. Or, sometimes he means you literally can’t beat a train, so don’t play chicken on the train tracks. You’re probably wondering why he even needed to tell us that in the first place…which I would explain, but neither you nor me have the time for that.

Talk about killer dance moves, yo

Dads often like to “break it down,” usually at the most inappropriate times, resulting in utter embarrassment for their children. The most popular and classic dad move I believe is the giant air guitar, which I witnessed a lot at my kindergarten Brownies Father-Daughter Dance. One of the best times I have ever had with my dad was at my brother’s wedding when the DJ played Don’t Stop Believing.” My dad and I just belted it, rocking all kinds of dance moves that white people should NEVER attempt. And yes, we both rocked that air guitar solo.

They know the ins and outs of business

I mean really, where would we be if we didn’t have our dads to do our taxes, explain to us how insurance works, and to bargain for us when we are buying a car. I can tell you where I’d be, Mexico, running from the IRS (literally running because I wouldn’t have a car). In addition to business smarts, they are knowledgeable about many other things. If it weren’t for my dad, I probably never would have changed the oil in my car, I wouldn’t know how to fire a gun, and I would probably swing a bat like a girl.

They are a beacon of positivity

Except when you failed that chemistry test or got caught sneaking out, then their words are a little more frightening than positive, but still. Dads are always there to encourage us, and their positive words always make us want to strive to do better.

I love my dad, and we have a great relationship, but it wasn’t always so. During my teenage years it seemed as though we were at a crossroads. We didn’t understand each other, and I really was afraid that we never would. There was constant friction and we were always fighting. Sometimes I was all like:

But eventually our differences became more and more miniscule and we were able to get along. Reflecting back on my relationship with my dad, it really makes me miss being a kid. When I was little my father and I used to go down to the creek and catch minnos ans tadpoles. I used to ride on his back whenever I was tired. He taught me how to ride a bike in my next door neighbor’s yard. After I learned, I actually pretended I still didn’t know how just because I liked that time with him. We used to always go on walks after dinner, picking up different leaves and he would tell me about the different kinds of trees (where he learned this stuff, I have no idea). Where in the world did the time go?

Think about your dad or father figure in your life, living or dead, and be thankful for them, because they are very thankful for you!

Happy Father’s Day, ChriPhone 570s, you and that striped shirt are da bomb.

AbbeyS

Leave a Reply

