California Here I Am

A week ago, I hopped off the plane at LAX with my dream and my cardigan.  Well, I didn’t so much hop off a plane as I did climb out of my Nissan after driving 3 days/20+ hours/1450 miles through the great southwest with my dad.  To be fair, he did most of the driving.  The dream and cardigan thing is somewhat accurate, but since I can’t live in just a cardigan for the next two months, I brought some other stuff too – enough to move into my cousin’s house for the summer.

The first part of my great summer adventure was said road trip with my dad.  Some of you may be thinking, “Three day road trip with your FATHER? That sounds awful!”  And despite the fact that my dad and I have a really great relationship, I was a little concerned about spending that much time with him, especially isolated in a moving vehicle on a highway for hours on end (sorry dad).

We’re obnoxious.

But my worries quickly disappeared as we departed from Dallas and made our way west.  Even though he made us listen to sports radio for the first 3 hours, we had really intelligent conversations about technology and social media, my future, and stories from college about stuff that he probably doesn’t want me to post on the internet.  We also sang along to some of our favorite oldies, which was a pretty great bonding experience, especially when “our” song by Neil Young came on and we sang it together (and he may or may not have teared up, just a little).  He also asked me to play him some of my favorite Kanye West songs – that was weird.

Those 20+ hours ended up flying by, and I found myself wondering where the time went as we entered the Los Angeles city limits.  From an exhausting search for margaritas in Las Cruces, New Mexico, to being too scared (and cheap – it was a whole dollar) to see “The Thing!” off of I-10 in Arizona, to a stop in Tombstone – “the town too tough to die,” to sitting in an hour of traffic outside of Palm Springs for no apparent reason, it was a journey that I wouldn’t have wanted to share with anyone else.

Ok, I’m obnoxious.

It was really special to make this trip with my dad before starting my own adventure, my summer in California.  My first week in LA is coming to a close and I’m starting to get into the swing of things, so I think it’s necessary to reflect on my time and think about what’s to come.  Anyone who knows me knows that I’ve dreamed about coming here for years.  Maybe it’s the fact that I want to be part of the entertainment industry and this is the place to be, or maybe I just watched too many episodes of Laguna Beach and The Hills growing up.  Either way, I couldn’t be happier that I’m here and I’m ready to take LA by storm.  And while admittedly I’ve spent a good chunk of my time here so far marathoning Arrested Development and reading Game of Thrones, I know there are so many great things in store for me in the coming weeks.

I still can’t believe I’m here,

LauraS

Leave a Reply

