’90s Music Monday – Spice Up Your Life

So tell me what you want, what you really, really want on this ’90s Music Monday. Better yet, let me tell you exactly what you want, what you really, really want in this post.

There is no band from the ’90s that can compare to the Spice Girls. The group is made up of five girls representing all different stereotypes, with one message that rings true today: Girl Power.

spice girls

Sporty, Ginger, Baby, Scary, and Posh released “Wannabe,” their first single, in 1996 and girls everywhere became obsessed. Literally every song they released had millions of fans no matter how much play it had on the radio. Other favorite tracks off the first album include “Say You’ll Be There” and “Who Do You Think You Are.” The first album from these ladies is so amazing because it’s got catchy dance tunes girls still love to sing and groove to in front of the mirror.

The very next year, our girls released the ever famous “Spiceworld” album which led to the best movie of that year. “Spice Up Your Life” was the first single released off the album, and probably is the best song they have ever written. For goodness sake, they tell all the colors of the world to spice up their life! Get up and take a dance break with me for a second.

After Simon Fuller, then manager, took the ladies to the east for performances they somehow ended up in South Africa where Nelson Mandela called them his HEROES. Please tell me you love them as much as me by now.

Yes it’s true, THEY MADE A MOVIE 100% ABOUT THEMSELVES. It’s not exactly biographical but it’s a more theatrical version of their lives. The five ladies drive around England on the biggest, coolest bus ever to hit the streets as they prepare for a giant concert. I mean Baby Spice has a swing, Sporty has a stationary bike, and Posh has a stocked closet with a mini-runway. Of course the plot of the movie is basically nothing except them messing with their onscreen manager’s head 24/7, working through the ups and downs of touring, and even meeting some aliens in a forest when they’re going to the bathroom. This movie is still relevant and I can prove it to you: last summer (May-July 2012) my best friends and I found a copy of the DVD on our shelf in Lubbock and watched it. Which led to an obsession for two reasons; first, because it brought us back to childhood and some of the songs we first discovered when we hit the age that Radio Disney sucked (still in shock that I listened to this station…).

The second reason former fangirls who have now reached their 20s and 30s loved, and still love, these five girls is because they were themselves and they preached it!! Ginger Spice was famous as the one who really spread the message for girl power, but it was a motto the whole group really used. We love these ladies so much because they embraced who they were at that time in their lives when it’s hard to know who you are and what you want. If you want to wear animal print head to toe and be totally outlandish, Scary was your girl. If you were innocent and naïve, Baby was your favorite. But no matter what, we understood from the Spice Girls that you have to love yourself and love your friends.

I’m 21 and just moved out to LA. I have no friends here and I have no idea what the heck I’m even doing half the time. But knowing in the back of my mind that I can be myself and enjoy what I want to enjoy is the best feeling. And I partially have to thank the Spice Girls for this. They preached girl power to the world and I heard the message!

So girls (and guys), spice up your lives! Embrace your true self and do your thing. And buy the greatest hits album. It’s the least we can do for our childhood idols!

AlaynaS

One comment

  1. Alayna! Lol even though I am not a girl, I still love the spice girls! The catchy tunes take me back to the days when I had a crush on Ginger! Haha do your thing in LA! See you back in Lubbz.

Leave a Reply

